Home > Uncategorized > The Imperfect Ring

The Imperfect Ring

Heylo. It’s good to back. Especially when morning sprung up the warmest of surprises for me. Well, the story starts with a sad sentiment, so let’s drop it. Thing is, I hate keeping my ring finger empty. I’ve had something on it all the time. Cheap aluminium coated rings, dripping with love. And then they were snatched away from, one by one, probably by God. Probably. I went down from spending a good half an hour in front of the mirror to giving it a rough look before I rush out, determined to drown myself in another exhausting day. But my finger, it always felt lonely. It’s awkward, really. I was always searching for something to fill it, it was disturbing. I couldn’t escape it like so many other facts in my life. I told my folks about a ring, anything, precious/non precious, something given to me out of love. 

And I got it todaaaaaaaaaaaay!

As I write, I can’t help but steal a look at the cute little thing on my once-lonely finger. Guess who did the magic? It’s my oh-so-dear Bulan, my angellic grandma I talked about in earlier posts. She said she had a gift for me. I was prepared for her sweet small somethings. She keeps stuffing nice little things in my mouth, keeps my audacious requests for tea at absurd times of the day. She knows it matters, every bit of it.

But today, she actually gave me a ring, a real (OMG!) gold cute thing.  It’s a simple gold band encrusted with red and white stones. Ma tells me its decently expensive given the gold prices of today. Not that I care, am just so happy my finger is flaunting it.

And then a curious thing struck me. One of the stones in the ring is missing. “That’s a shame!” I thought, “It’s so beautiful otherwise!” I asked around to find out if the stone can be replaced somehow. But at the face of it, the replacement will require the gold to be molten and therefore burnt which will result in loss of the mass. So that’s that. I was a tad bit down. I kept looking at it in the mini-bus I take to office.

And I suddenly felt nice. Nice about that little gap in my ring. It’s so much like me. The imperfect me. The me whose life is never on the track. The me who’s been taken to the highest of highs and thrashed to the lowest of lows. The me who suffering, pained and yet sometimes a little happy. That’s my ring. it allows a little imperfection, a little opening for the sunshine to touch the loved spot. The ring is life. Life that’s illogical. Life that doesn’t care for rules. Life that is acausal, irrational, weird, unjust and beautiful. Life that is brilliantly imperfect.

I found my Imperfect Ring. I hope you find yours.

Yours Imperfectly,

Sreemanti Sengupta

  1. unscatheddreams
    March 29, 2012 at 10:14 am

    Even I have a ring with one stone missing. and yes, someone gave it to me out of love. The ring was her wedding ring. And she’s divorced so she cant really sell it away, so she gave it to me.

    and I read somewhere that when someone gives you “an imperfect thing”, (like a ring with one stone missing) its supposed to be lucky for you.

    Cheers 🙂

    • March 29, 2012 at 8:02 pm

      I can pop out all the stones for luck! Lovely hearing from you ❤

  2. April 4, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Hello there, simply became aware of your weblog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you happen to continue this in future. Numerous other folks shall be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  3. April 6, 2012 at 8:02 am

    Would love to perpetually get updated great weblog!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

