Home > Uncategorized > Rising from the ashes

Rising from the ashes

It’s Holi. Festival of colours, begun by Krishna as part of the elaborate Raasleela.

I remember how I used to love it when I was tiny. The excitement of ‘arrival’ was always greater than the ‘arrived’. With years, the anticipatory delight has wasted and I too, despicably like others muse and sigh on bygone days. Does Holi change? Not one bit. I have been replaced by a whole new generation. If I stand by the window, I see younger selves of me, frolicking in colours. Some boy sneaking up with that horrible black and smearing it all over my face. And the girl sulking and calling after the disappearing boy. Every unmistakable Holi. Nothing has changed. Somebody has hit the ‘enter’ on the keyboard and made space for new lines to be written, new colours to be played.

I have changed too.

Holi now gives me pimples. Always did, I just notice it now.

Holi is rowdy. Really?

Holi is for the folks on streets.

They ring unfamiliar to my ears. But who wants to talk of first crushes unless in the romantic sense. Definitely not of the crush that leered at your false attempts to impress him. Stuff for books, eh?

This Holi, reclaim a little of yourselves. Tr not to dissociate the essential you from yourself. Try not to get too comfortable with lies just because they are convenient. Try and rise from the ashes.

Have a brilliant Holi.

Yours,

Sreemanti Sengupta

  1. March 19, 2012 at 11:42 am

    You are my breathing in, I possess few blogs and very sporadically run out from brand :). “Never mistake motion for action.” by Ernest Hemingway.

  2. April 5, 2012 at 3:58 am

    As a Newbie, I am always exploring online for articles that can be of assistance to me. Thank you

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

